Merry Christmas, you beautiful bastards!

Posted: December 24, 2015 in Uncategorized

Hello all you beautiful bastards!

I think I need to open this with a rather big apology (like I haven’t done that before!) My last blog entry was on the 11th of October! Even for me that’s a long time ago!

Remember this time last year when I was writing a ‘welcome return’ blog after disappearing and shutting down the blog? Yeah, well It’s actually been longer this year than it was last year, and this year was unintentional! Why do I keep mentioning last year’s little break? Well, the more I look back on it, the more I think it’s slightly embarrassing and cringeworthy in the way I went about it. But hey, it reflects my mental state at the time and at least it shows I’m not afraid to show my emotions!

So, why the long gap? In all honesty it’s been work. Despite all claims otherwise, the beginning of the new school year in September was a colossal fuck up from day one. That means not only have I been busting my balls to do my own job, I’ve been picking up the slack from the other fuckwits in admin who couldn’t do theirs as well! I’ve also been observed, had to present strategies to my team and still meet all my own deadlines. In short, I’ve been fucking busy. That, plus the fact I was at work until yesterday (something, as a teacher, I’ve never had to do) means I’ve got nothing done on this blog.

Anyone who reads these blogs on a regular basis knows that they are quite long. There’s a very simple reason for that: detail. I like to analyse entire articles and put my own thoughts and feelings on them. If the article itself is 2 pages that means my blogs end up being double that. They also take 3 or 4 hours to write, not including proofreading, editing and any redrafting. As you can appreciate, I haven’t had that much free time over the last 2 and a half months to write. That’s not to say I haven’t wanted to, I have 3 or 4 subjects ready to go, I just need to find time.

Having said that, I was extended an opportunity in October to join The Libertarian Republic, an online site that wanted me to publish stuff based on men’s rights and how men are treated in society. That opportunity allowed me to write shorter articles that took less time. It was a good way to continue writing but without feeling the pressure to do huge Salmon-esque blog entries.

I’ve done 3 so far: the first was one the double standard surrounding Justin Bieber’s nudes leaking out:

http://thelibertarianrepublic.com/the-bieber-double-standard-is-about-more-than-simple-nudity/

The second was about the double standard in the way we approach female teachers and male students:

http://thelibertarianrepublic.com/the-predisposition-against-male-victims-of-statutory-rape/

And my third one was about the place chivalry holds in a truly equal society:

http://thelibertarianrepublic.com/if-men-owe-women-chivalry-what-do-women-owe-men/

I’ll be writing for TLR for as long as they’ll have me. I won’t be abandoning this blog, hopefully the new year will be a touch calmer at work.

With it being Christmas Eve I thought I’d just say a big Merry Christmas to everyone! Once again it’s the people who read this blog that keep it going. The responses I continue to get are amazing and, while I’m not in the same league as some others on Facebook/YouTube, I love to read them, even the negatives. I probably won’t get much time to get online over the next 2 or 3 days so I hope everyone has a lovely few days and gets whatever they wish for Christmas! If you aren’t celebrating Christmas then just have an awesome weekend and I’ll see you on the other side!

 

Leave a Reply

