2 years of John Salmon’s World, you lucky bunch!

Posted: August 25, 2015 in Uncategorized

Well, what a difference a year makes, or so the saying (sometimes) goes. Two years ago today I published my first entry on this site, only a couple of hours after creating it. I made a blog post on the 1 year anniversary so I figured I would keep it going and do one for the second anniversary, too.

This is going to be short, not because I don’t have a lot to say, just because I have another blog entry in the works that will hopefully be published this weekend, so this one doesn’t need to drone on.

A lot has happened in the last year. The first year was amazing, it was a huge weight off my shoulders to actually get it up and running and the response it got was beyond anything I could have imagine. I subtitled it ‘the everyday ramblings of an everyday blog’ because that’s how I truly feel. I’m not special and I never thought I was. I live a very average life: a job, an apartment, a car, a few close friends and a small number of hobbies. It was important for me to start this blog for that very reason, because my thoughts and feelings didn’t match what I was seeing in the media, in other people’s live.

I think one of the biggest things that has happened in the last year is the length of these entries. A few months ago I did a bit of research and in the first year of this blog my entries increased from around 2000 words to somewhere around 4000. I can’t really explain why they’ve nearly doubled in size but I think it’s mostly to do with how comfortable I feel when uploading entries. When I first started the blog I was in a bad place. While the intention at the start was pure, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy the attention it got. Sometimes, I think I was writing what I thought would get me noticed. Not that I wasn’t writing from the heart, just that I was perhaps oversimplifying things. I remember my first blog on rape culture, about 3 or 4 months after I started this blog, ran to 4/5 pages when I was typing it. I thought that was huge and was slightly worried about uploading it in case the length put people off. Now, my blog entries regularly run to 8 or 9 pages and I don’t think twice about uploading them.

I’m not saying I’m any more special now that the blog has been running for two years. In fact, I feel more average than ever. And that’s a beautiful thing, a glorious thing. I love this blog, truly, even though I don’t get to publish entries half as often as I would like. It’s my catharsis, my confession.

This last year, the second year, has been just as special as the first year but in a completely different way. It’s been a tougher year in terms of who and what I want John Salmon to be and whether or not I felt ready to try and transition from hiding behind a pseudonym to my real identity.

For those who don’t know, John Salmon isn’t my real name. Using a pseudonym has garnered me some criticism over the last couple of years. I’ve been called a coward for not being brave enough to write under my real name. I don’t see fault with argument, I can completely understand why people would think that. I would like to point out that it’s not cowardice that keeps me behind this name, it’s simply caution. I’m protecting my identity because I’ve seen what can happen to those who openly speak out about the same topics I write about. Unfortunately, I just don’t have the same platform as those people. I have a lot to lose and, at the moment, I’m not ready to risk it.

I’ve tried to open myself up. There are a handful of people who either know my real name or who I have developed friendships with outside of John Salmon, but they are few. At one point, I had 10 or 11 shared friends. Now, I only have 2. It’s nothing against those people I defriended, I just need to have that distance between my two identities. It’s difficult, having two separate identities that equally form who I am, but I decided that I really need to keep them separate. Those two who I have kept on my friends list are the two best friends I have encountered on this journey. I don’t know whether they feel the same way, but they keep me grounded and honest. As weird as this may sound when talking about two people I’ve never met: I love them.

I’ve discovered a lot more about myself this last year. I’ve got in more arguments, I’ve pissed more people off, I’ve discovered more about myself and my own personal ideology, I’ve opened my mind to more ideas and thought processes and probably thought about quitting more than ever. I’ve taken small breaks, long breaks, resolved never to come back and resolved never to leave. The gauntlet of emotions; I’ve run it. I don’t go out with the intention of pissing people off, sometimes it’s just the end result. At the end of the day I couldn’t care less, if I think someone’s saying something stupid I’m quite happy to tell them.

I’ve definitely got on the wrong side of people, I’ve argued more with people who, supposedly, share a similar belief set to my own, I’ve been banned from more pages in the last 6 months than in the first year of this blog. But, more importantly, I’ve made new friends, formed new opinions and really started to realise who I am as a person.

I’ve realised over the last year that I genuinely couldn’t give a shit if people like me. I genuinely don’t care what people think of me or this blog. Whether they think I’m pretentious, up my own arse, confrontational, cowardly or anything else is something I honestly couldn’t care less about. While the initial reception was positive and I continue to get positive remarks, I’ve burned a lot of bridges recently. I don’t regret anything, I don’t feel like I have anything to regret. I know there are people out there that don’t like me, as there are people out there that I don’t like. I don’t find that worrying in any way. We have different opinions and are passionate about them. I don’t see that as a negative. What kind of boring world would we live in if everyone was in agreement all the time?

I love this blog, genuinely. I know that without the help of the admins at Exposing Feminism, The United Anti Feminist Coalition and I Don’t Need Feminism I wouldn’t have a fraction of the followers or views that I get. I know that without all the shares, comments and likes there would be no reason for this blog to continue. I only write the stuff, it’s people on Facebook and Twitter that really get it out there. I’ve received a lot of help and for that I’m truly grateful. I’ve noticed a page called Discrimination Against Men has shared a few of my Facebook posts recently, opening up my stuff to an even wider audience. I don’t know who runs that page but, whoever you are, thank you.

I’m 29 in 4 days. I finally feel like I kinda know who I am and what I believe. I spent most of my early 20s not knowing and it was a difficult time. John Salmon’s World would probably not exist without social media and it would probably not be as much fun to continue without the support of hundreds of people who have liked, commented, shared, discussed and debated stuff with me.

I don’t care if you like me as a person, I just hope you read what I write, not because I think I’m better than you or that my opinion is the only that counts, simply because it’s just another opinion to think about.

To all those who have read and shared these blog posts over the last 2 years, genuinely I can’t thank you enough. I hope you’re with me for a long time. Yeah, there are times when I’ve come close to giving up but something always brings me back. Whatever that something is, just know that you are part of it, you are part of me.

I don’t post as often as I want to, but I’m always thinking of what my next blog entry will be. I’ll be back in the next few days (hopefully) with a look at why men are so angry these days.

Until then, thank you all for your continual support of an everyday bloke rambling on about everyday things. It means the world. John Salmon’s World!

All shitty puns aside, Peace!

JS

Comments
  1. Ian says:

    It called “maturing” the wonderful phase when you finally leave behind the confines of childhood where you had to behave yourself and care what others thought of you. We all reach that point eventually but some reach it much sooner than others which means they get more time to live a richer happier life than the majority who only realize this in old age.

    There was an article recently where old people where asked what they regretted about their life and the top answer was they had worried too much especially worrying what others thought about them. You cannot be true to yourself if you are shackled to society norms.

    Keep on speaking the truth. Every stone hurled against the fortress of feminism and political correctness is one more chip which undermines its’ legitimacy.

Leave a Reply

