A fond farewell.

Posted: November 29, 2014 in Uncategorized

I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve started this blog entry. Four, maybe five times now and every time I delete it and start again. I mentioned in my last blog (on the NYC street harassment video) that I was also in the process of writing another one that would be up the next day. That was a month ago.

Truth be told, that blog is half finished. Maybe I’ll finish it one day, but right now it’s not on my to-do list. Nothing is on my to-do. In fact, my to-do list has been wiped clean. The last month has seen me start, stop and start again on numerous blog entries, from Dr Matt Taylor’s shirt, to male body shaming, to defending myself against claims of sexism, to toxic female entitlement. Every time I’ve started one, I’ve ended up deleting it or leaving it half-finished.

I’ve yet to complete the audio narration for that last blog on street harassment. The audio is recorded, the screen caps have been taken, though not edited, and all the links are ready to be copied and pasted into Youtube, but I haven’t started editing it together. That’s unlike me.

All of that procrastination, the delays, the re-writes, edits and, ultimately, deletions, leads me to one conclusion that I hoped wouldn’t happen: I’m shutting down John Salmon’s World.

I had a great idea of what my final blog entry would be, how I’d go out in a blaze of glory and show a big middle finger (or ‘flick the Vs’ as I’m English) to everyone who I’ve pissed off and who’s tried to demonise and shame me. But, if that was the case, if I did have the desire to write a blog entry like that then there’d be no need to shut this page down as I’d be writing stuff like that every week.

The fact I have a Word Document absolutely full of links that I could write about, that prove female entitlement is everywhere, that prove feminism is about anything but equality, that show double standards are the realm of both men and women and yet can’t muster the energy to sit down and type tells me that my heart isn’t in it anymore.

I don’t know what the reason is; I’m not depressed, I’m not unhappy, I’m not feeling a great sense of injustice, I just think this blog, and my need to vent, has run its course. I started this blog to deal with the frustrated way I was living my life, I’ve written about it in the past so there’s no need to go over it again. Needless to say this blog came at the right time but, now, it’s time to let go.

I never thought that would happen, seriously. I thought I’d write this blog forever but over a month without writing anything despite having a mountain of possible topics is evidence enough that it’s time to go.

The brilliant thing is that, in the last few months, feminism has been questioned in a lot of places. Major newspapers are now starting to openly criticise feminists and feminist ideas, maybe that’s why I feel I don’t need to write this anymore, there are comment sections and Facebook pages and Twitter pages that are now beginning to post a lot more criticism of feminism and that’s a good thing. The average, everyday person on the street is beginning to see the toxic excess of feminism and openly questioning it. Men and women are now standing up and refusing to be bullied.

The Matt Taylor outrage proves that feminism still has power in a lot of ways, but the response to him; similar shirts selling out on internet pages, Elly Prizeman being inundated with requests, over $22,000 being raised on a Go Fund Me page, shows that a lot of people are no longer willing to lie down and take the shit feminism has got used to dolling out.

The long and short of it is simple; I don’t need to be John Salmon anymore. Yeah, there are still some things I would never touch on my real page, but I’m now a lot more confident and hopeful when it comes to posting more controversial stuff. As long as it’s done in a respectful way, people are now beginning to see criticism of feminism in a much more calm way, as opposed to jumping straight to artificial outrage and screaming ‘misogyny’. At least, that’s how my Facebook looks.

I’ve loved writing this blog and, maybe, someday, I’ll return to writing, maybe writing this entry will restart that fire I had when I first created it, who knows. For now though, I’ll be logging off in a better place than when I started, a much better place.

I was talking to my sister the other day about some SJW shit and she said something that I wasn’t expecting; “You spend too much time on the internet.” She’s right, I spend too much time as John Salmon. I see the worst humanity has to offer and very little of the best. Finding a balance is absolutely key. It’s time I found that balance.

In the last year I’ve been called sexist, evil, deluded, cowardly, misinformed and patronising, I’ve been accused of being a white knight, a feminist infiltrator and a misandrist, from both feminists and MRAs. Both sides of the equality battle are as bad as each other, I want no part of either. There are feminists who have their heart in the right place but are just too blinded by feminist propaganda to see how toxic the movement really is, likewise there are MRAs whose viewpoint is skewed by the MRM. I don’t hate either side, I just don’t want to associate with either of them, I’ve never been shy about that.

I’ll miss this blog, truly, and maybe I’ll be back, maybe I’ll be back next week, maybe next year, I don’t know. Once I publish this blog piece I’ll be logging out of John Salmon’s world, I’ll be logging out of Twitter and deactivating my Facebook profile. ‘Shutting down’ may have been slightly misleading, I’m not deleting the blog, I’m just going away for a while. To that end, I’ve handed in my resignation at The United Anti-Feminist Coalition and will do the same likewise at Exposing Feminism. Both fantastic pages and I wish them all the best for the future. I’ll leave my Facebook page up so you can see all the blogs I’ve put on there up to this point, I’ll leave my Youtube channel up so people can continue to watch them, I may even finish the last video. But that’s it, no more for the foreseeable future.

Thank you, to everyone for all the support over the last year and a bit. I’ve loved every minute of it and you can all rest easy in the knowledge that you’ve helped me regain some of the sanity I thought I’d never get back.

So what now? Well, I’m off to watch England beat Australia at rugby!

Thank you. Have a nice day, folks.

John

Comments
  1. Francisco Beanburger says:

    Peace and fucking.

  2. rustycrayons says:

    Not sure if you’ll read this, but now that your FB profile is inactive (or invisible) I’m not sure how else to get in touch.

    It’s a shame to see you go man. Even just having your name still in my friends list would be something… I’d know you were there and would not feel the loss. But I guess that’s kinda selfish to think that way.

    Whatever happens, I hope things turn out well for you John Salmon – English teacher from the UK.

    Please don’t shut down the blog though… leave it here for posterity and reference. The internet loves things like this and it’s very likely to have value to a lot of people over time. Who knows, you might even become famous one day!

    Being true to yourself has always been your biggest strength mate, never change that.

    With respect,

    Rusty Crayons

Leave a Reply

